Music of the day: 11/04/13

I’ve decided to start a new feature, one that I should be able to keep up (almost) daily, with different recommended tracks each day. I don’t know about anyone else, but often I prefer a human opinion to a recommendation algorithm, so I thought I’d offer mine.

Orchestral: Franz Schubert, Symphony No. 9 in C major ‘Great’

The best recording I’ve heard of this so far is by Simon Rattle and the Berlin Philharmonic, which is fantastic, but not perfect (a bit too much rubato I think).

Chamber: Frederic Rzewski, The People United Will Never Be Defeated!

Jazz: Bob Mintzer Big Band (featuring Kurt Elling), Minuano

Rock/pop ( I really need to think of something better to call this): Fleet Foxes, White Winter Hymnal

Check out more recommended music.

Tell us what you think...

